Navigation Menu

Why accreditation matters

Accreditation matters because:

  • Accreditation safeguards the quality of the teaching profession
  • Accreditation means teachers must have a teaching qualification, meet quality standards and keep up-to-date
  • Accreditation continuously develops teachers
  • Accreditation improves student achievement across NSW
  • Accreditation is building a collaborative, reflective and evidence based teaching culture
  • Accreditation celebrates quality teaching and inspirational teachers.

Requiring all NSW school teachers to be accredited is one of Great Teaching, Inspired Learning actions of the NSW Government to increase the high standards of teaching in NSW, and lift the status of the profession.

The Australian Professional Standards for Teachers (APST) describe what a teacher is expected to know and be able to do across the career stages of:

  • Graduate teacher
  • Proficient teacher
  • Highly Accomplished teacher
  • Lead teacher.

The APST uses nationally agreed indicators of teacher quality to prepare, support and develop teachers across these four career stages.

Accreditation is based on teachers meeting the Standard Descriptors at the relevant career level in the APST.

More on the Standards at each of the career stages in the APST.

As a teacher, achieving at the various accreditation levels offers you:

  • a structured induction to teaching practice, designed to support the strengthening of your classroom knowledge and skills
  • a chance to progress professionally, access support and be recognised for your skills
  • to participate and build a collaborative, reflective and evidence based teaching culture that involve your peers, school and community.

A requirement of accreditation is completing an accredited teaching qualification. This means that when you are considering teaching as a profession, you need to carefully choose from quality accredited initial teaching education (ITE) programs.

More on finding an accredited teaching degree.

NESA is responsible for assessing and accrediting teaching degrees offered by high education providers. This includes setting prerequisites for admission to both four year teaching degrees and graduate entry teaching degrees.

More on accreditation of ITE programs for higher education providers.

Complementary Content