Navigation Menu
start portlet menu bar

Program accreditation requirements

Display portlet menu
end portlet menu bar

Program accreditation requirements

To ensure that future NSW teachers develop the knowledge, understanding, skills and values needed to improve student outcomes, all initial teacher education programs undergo a rigorous assessment process. Program accreditation is for up to 5 years and provides these graduates with a qualification to be eligible for Provisional Accreditation to teach in NSW schools.

Designing a program

The development and design of an initial teacher education program is a comprehensive process requiring a considerable amount of time and expertise. You are expected to have an initial discussion with the NESA ITE team about the proposed introduction of a new or amended program. You should keep in contact with the NESA ITE team throughout the development of the program. This will help you ensure your program submission includes all details necessary to meet accreditation requirements.

Key documents

The following documents describe the process for the assessment and accreditation of initial teacher education programs in NSW.

Accreditation of Initial Teacher Education Programs in Australia – Standards and Procedures (Dec 2015) (PDF 261 KB)

AITSL Guidelines for the Accreditation of Initial Teacher Education Programs in Australia 2016 (PDF 1 MB)

AITSL Guideline for Teacher Performance Assessment (PDF 154 KB)

AITSL Guideline for Demonstrating Impact (PDF 115 KB)

AITSL Guideline for Primary Specialisations (PDF 51.9 KB)

Subject Content Knowledge Requirements

Your program application needs to include evidence that graduates will meet all aspects of the NSW Subject Content Knowledge Requirements relating to pre-requisites and discipline content knowledge. These outline the discipline knowledge requirements for initial teacher education programs that underpin Graduate Teacher Standard Descriptor 2.1.1 of the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers.

Download the Subject Content Knowledge Policy (PDF 526 KB)

Primary teaching specialisations

In addition to general program accreditation requirements, providers may elect to design primary programs to satisfy the NESA subject content knowledge requirements for a primary teaching specialisation. Specialisations in mathematics or science and technology are currently being recognised.

Download the Requirements for Primary Teaching Specialisations (57 KB)

Apply for recognition of a primary specialisation (74 KB Doc)

Priority Areas

Your program submission must show evidence that graduates will meet all aspects of the NESA Elaborations in Priority Areas relating to:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education
  • Classroom Management
  • Information and Communication Technologies
  • Literacy and Numeracy
  • Students with Special Educational Needs
  • Teaching Students with English as an Additional Language or Dialect (EAL/D)

Download the Elaborations in Priority Areas (PDF 213 KB)

Professional Experience

Your program application should comply with the NSW professional experience requirements including the Professional Experience Policy and utilise documentation from the Professional Experience Framework.

Completing an application

Access application templates.

Complementary Content